JHAuthors: One Woman, Three Names, Many Books

Digging Up the Remains, the 3rd book in my Garden Squad series, comes out August 25, 2020 as a book, e-book and audiobook! It’s available for pre-order here. Here’s what it’s about:

A festive fall is in full swing in Goosebush, Massachusetts, but when a snoopy reporter is felled by foul play, it’s up to Lilly and her Garden Squad to spook out a killer . . .

Between hosting a haunted house on her lawn, serving on the town’s 400th Anniversary Planning Committee, and prepping for the Fall Festival’s 10k fundraiser, Lilly’s hands are full. She doesn’t have time for prickly newspaper reporter Tyler Crane, who’s been creeping around town, looking for dirt on Goosebush’s most notable families . . . until he’s found dead on the race route moments before the start.

An unfortunate accident? Or did Tyler unearth a secret that someone in Goosebush is willing to kill to keep? By planting nasty rumors and cultivating fear, Tyler sowed a fair share of ill will during his brief time in town. Weeding through the suspects will be thorny, but Lilly and her Garden Squad are determined to root out the autumnal assassin before the Fall Festival flops . . .

Who is JHAuthors?

I write under three names–Julia Henry, Julianne Holmes, and J.A. Hennrikus. Rather than create a site for each name, I decided to put them all under JHAuthors. Julia Henry is the most active of the names now, but I hope you’ll explore each of the series I write.

animation (2)

I dreamed of being a published mystery author for years. In 2015 my dream came true, when I published Just Killing Time, the first in the three book Clock Shop Mystery series. The series is published by Berkley. When they asked me to pick an author name, I went with Julianne Holmes, a family name. I didn’t realize the connection to Sherlock Holmes, but it works! More information about that series here.


Though the three books in the Clock Shop series were the first books I published, there weren’t the first books I wrote. In 2017 the first book I wrote and tried to publish found a home with Midnight Ink, another wonderful publisher. Since theater and mysteries intersect in this series, and in my life, I decided to publish under my name, J.A. Hennrikus. Holding A Christmas Peril in my hands was a thrill, and I look forward to the publication of With A Kiss I Die in April of 2019. More information about that series here.

In 2019 my Garden Squad series debuted with Pruning the Dead. Tilling the Truth came out in August of 2019, and Digging Up the Remains will be out in August 2020. I’m thrilled that there will also be a book 4&5 (at least) of this series.

There’s more about how JHAuthors came to being here.

Want to keep up with the latest news? I do occassional posts here, and you can also sign up for my newsletter here. The newsletter is a work in progress, but is coming soon. I promise I won’t send it out too often–four times a year.

On the 20th of every month I blog on Killer Characters. I am also a regular contributor to the Wicked Authors. I’ve been using Instagram a lot, and post on Facebook. I use Twitter mostly to live tweet events and TV shows, so join me there!

I send out a newsletter once a month to keep you updated on my books, my appearances, and more. I’d love to stay in touch!

Success! You're on the list.